Edinburgh in a day – Part 2

One of my favorite authors of fiction is Dr. Alexander McCall Smith who has written the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the Isabel Dalhousie series, and the 44 Scotland Yard series amongst others. I am addicted to his books and especially enjoyed the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series since I grew up in Botswana which is where the stories are based too. I had written to him and received a warm reply in which he told me about the event happening at St. Cecilia’s Hall. The evening started off with a small piece on the bagpipes by a student of the University of Edinburgh, followed by an introduction by AMcCS, a lecture on the works of the poet W.H. Auden by Prof. Mendelson from Columbia University, and ended spectacularly with a performance comprising of ‘The Willowwren and the Stare’ (a poem of Auden’s) set to tune.  After this, I met with AMcCS who interacted with me for a little while, took photos with me, and gladly signed all the books of his that I had brought with me from India! As you can imagine, I was over the moon 🙂

AMcCS with me after the lecture!

This was followed by a lovely dinner at the David Bann restaurant which came recommended highly especially for a vegetarian like me. The restaurant was another gem of a tip from my Expedia host from the London office. The travel pointers from the Expedia folks have been spot on and the Expedia experience a treat.  From here I walked most of the Royal Mile, back to Waverley through the market side this time, and on to Calton Hill. Here one could see the National Monument (based on the Parthenon), the Nelson Monument, etc., apart from fantastic views of the city, Arthur’s Seat, and the Firth of Forth. It was beautiful at sunset and I climbed down the hill with just enough time to visit the Mound for a view of the Edinburgh Castle after walking through St. Andrew’s Square. It was raining as I head to the Waverley Station for my Caledonian Express rain back to London, but who am I to complain after a glorious day outdoors? 🙂

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

